Florida is known for its strict laws against underage drinking. Under these laws, any person under the age of 21 is prohibited from purchasing, possessing, or consuming alcoholic drinks. Any violation of the law can result in a misdemeanor or felony charge, depending on the seriousness of the violation.

If you or someone in your family is facing underage drinking charges, you should consult a Miami criminal defense attorney as soon as possible and take the necessary steps to fight the charges and protect your freedom.

Penalties For Underage Drinking in Florida 

Possession of Alcohol

According to Section 562.111 of the Florida Statutes, it is illegal for a person under the age of 21 to be in possession of an alcoholic beverage. The term ‘possession of alcohol’ refers to a situation where the beverage is on your person, within your reach, or under your control.

It can result in a misdemeanor charge, which is punishable with a fine (up to $500), driver’s license suspension (up to a year), and jail time (up to 60 days). The charge can be contested with the help of a Miami criminal defense lawyer under certain circumstances:

  • You were not aware that the beverage in your possession contained alcohol.
  • You did not have any control over the beverage, nor was it within your reach.
  • You were not aware that there was an alcoholic beverage in your immediate surroundings.

Apart from this, if it is found that your constitutional rights were violated by police officers or if the evidence in question was obtained unlawfully, your Miami criminal defense attorney can have the charges against you dismissed.

Underage DUI

Florida has a zero tolerance law in place to prevent underage DUI incidents. If you are under the age of 21 and caught driving a vehicle with a BAC of 0.02 or above, your driver’s license will be suspended for a period of six months.

Purchasing Alcohol

Under Florida law, it is illegal for a person under the age of 21 to purchase or obtain an alcoholic beverage using a counterfeit or stolen identification card. It is a third-degree felony, which can only be contested with the help of an experienced Miami criminal defense lawyer.

The penalties include a fine (up to $5,000) and imprisonment (up to 5 years). It should be noted that the person who helped the minor get a counterfeit identification card will also be charged with a felony.

Charged With Underage Drinking in Florida? Choose The Right Miami Criminal Defense Attorney to Fight For You!

It is important to hire an attorney who is not only well-versed with Florida’s underage drinking laws, but is also experienced in handling these kinds of cases.

Attorney Chad Piotrowski has over 10 years of experience in handling underage drinking cases and can provide you with vigorous, effective legal representation. Having worked as a prosecutor, Chad Piotrowski knows how Florida’s criminal justice system works and how to achieve a positive outcome even in complicated cases.

If you are facing charges of underage purchasing, possession, or drinking of alcohol in Florida, call Piotrowski Law today at 305-783-3436 or write to us online for a free, no-obligations consultation.