[vc_empty_space height=”13vw”]Driving with a suspended license in the state of Florida can be classified as a civil traffic violation or a criminal offense. Pleading guilty to civil and criminal charges can mean a lot more than people may think, so having an experienced attorney on hand can be the difference between keeping your license and losing it for up to five years.
In Florida, knowingly driving with a suspended, revoked or canceled license can result in misdemeanor or felony charges, depending on if you have been previously convicted of the offense. People who are charged with driving on a suspended license in Palm Beach County are subject to possible imprisonment and fines if convicted. Depending on the classification of the offense, you can spend up to five years in prison and be forced to pay fines up to $5,000.
If found guilty, first-time offenders can be charged with a second-degree misdemeanor that can carry up to 60 days in jail and a fine up to $500. If it is your second conviction you can be charged with a first-degree misdemeanor, which can result in up to one year in jail and fines up to $1,000. Third convictions are classified as third-degree felonies, which can carry a possible five-year prison sentence and up to $5,000 in fines.
Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO)
Motorists who are convicted of driving with a suspended license are subject to being classified as a habitual traffic offender. If classified, drivers can have their license revoked for up to five years and are unable to apply for a hardship license. In order to be classified as a habitual traffic offender, you must be convicted of 15 moving traffic offenses that resulted in points being added to your license or at least three of the following offenses in the last five years.
- Driving on a suspended license
- manslaughter caused by the operation of a motor vehicle
- Any felony involved with the use of a motor vehicle
- Failure to stop following a motor crash resulting in the death or personal injury of another
- Driving a commercial vehicle with a disqualified license
Reasons for A Suspended License in Palm Beach County
In Palm Beach County, your license can be suspended for a variety of reasons. In regard to traffic violation points, your license can be suspended if you receive 12 points within 12 months, 18 points within 18 months, and 24 points within 36 months. If you fail to pay a traffic fine, fail to appear on a traffic summons or fail to comply with a traffic summons, your license can be suspended.
Refusing to take a breathalyzer or field sobriety test, failing to pay child support, causing death or serious bodily injury not as a result of a DUI and failing to meet minimum vision requirements can all contribute to license suspension. In addition, unpaid tickets, and failure to complete court-ordered driver school can contribute as well.
If you or someone you know has been charged with driving with a suspended license in Palm Beach County, seek legal representation immediately from Piotrowski Law. For a free legal consultation, call (561) 614-5000.