Florida Domestic Violence Cases: Top Questions Answered Domestic violence is a pattern of behavior that particular individuals use to establish dominance and control over the relationship. It is committed against their current or former intimate partners, families, relatives, or anyone who has lived with them in the same dwelling as a family unit. It includes…
Are you growing marijuana? You better get ready as the police may come knocking with a search and seizure warrant. Merely possessing marijuana is illegal in Florida. If you get caught, you will have a lot of explaining to do and a lot of penalties to pay.
What is Marijuana in Florida?
Also known as weed or loud, the drug marijuana has been utilized as an anesthetic, analgesic, antibiotic, antidepressant, and sedative all over the world. The chemical delta-9-tetrahyrdocannabinol (THC) is what causes the intoxicating effects that people seek.
Due to its THC content, marijuana may cause visual hallucinations, depression, anxiety, paranoia, and psychoses that may last four to six hours.
Is Marijuana Illegal in Florida?
Possessing, manufacturing, selling, or trafficking marijuana is generally illegal in Florida. However, due to the medical benefits that marijuana can provide, medical marijuana was legalized under Amendment 2.
Medical Marijuana in Florida
Starting January 2017, Amendment 2 legalized access to medical marijuana for patients with debilitating conditions.
Cancer, glaucoma, epilepsy, Parkinson’s disease, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, human immunodeficiency virus, and acquired immune deficiency syndrome are examples of the debilitating conditions the amendment is referring to. Patients need to present a certification from a physician and a valid identification card to receive the drug. Detailed rules and regulation are in progress now.
Penalties for Marijuana Charges
While Amendment 2 is in limbo, one thing is clear: you still cannot have marijuana for recreational use. If you get caught, you will get charged with a drug crime, which is always aggressively addressed by the Florida government.
As a citizen, knowing what consequences you will face is a must.
The amount of marijuana you possess is extremely important. If charged with a marijuana-related offense, owning less than 20 grams of the drug will require you to pay a maximum jail time of one year and a fine of $1000. This is considered a misdemeanor and having such record can negatively impact your life. Depending on where you are the officer could issue you a ticket and a fine.
If you possess 20 grams or more of marijuana, you have committed a felony. Since you own a greater amount, you will have to pay more. Punishment includes a maximum jail time of five years and a fine of $5000. Revocation of your driving license can also occur.
Marijuana Manufacture and Sale
Growing marijuana for personal use or for sale is still illegal. If drug manufacturing is done within 1000 feet of drug-free places like a school or public recreation area, penalties are greater. Such crime is a second-degree felony, punishable with jail time of up to 15 years.
- Marijuana Trafficking
Trafficking is simply possession a threshold amount of the ganja. This crime involves 25 pounds or more of marijuana and is a first-degree felony punishable by a 3-year minimum mandatory prison sentence and a maximum prison exposure of 30 years and a fine of $25,000. As the weight increases, so do the penalties.
Have You Been Charged with Marijuana-Related Offense? Hire a Defense Lawyer Today!
Do not hesitate to contact the best lawyers in Florida. Piotrowski Law offers the best and most professional legal service. We cater to criminal defense clients at the state level throughout Florida, and nationwide at the federal level on a case by case basis. Call us at (305) 204-5000 to schedule your free initial consultation.
At Piotrowski Law, we make sure that justice is served!